And so it begins!

Simple post with a bit of the story of it (not gonna post any pictures because I still need to get used to this interface).

First the coffee part. Yes, I like coffee! 🙂

Coffee is part of the life of a scientist and that’s how it started. Some years ago I started a science blog “Astro and Coffee” where I posted everyday about what I have done on research that day. It was very good for a long time.

I also started my sports blog (I do love cycling), which I haven’t use for a while, but that reflects my sports performance lately :-). The blog, to follow the trend is “Bikes and Coffee“.

Indeed coffee is part of my life!!

After many years I’m back into photography. When I was a teenager my parents had an extensive equipment at home. A Nikon F3 (if memory serves well) and a Canon Pelix (the one with the fix mirror, for photographing drawings). Yep, it was never mentioned back then, but my father was a Nikon shooter and my mother a Canon shooter into macro photography!! hehehehehe

Well, those cameras were stollen, together with more than a dozen lenses, back in the 80’s in a house robbery. Shame.

After that my parents got a F-501 AF, wooooow, Auto-Focus!!! It was so cool!! And a nice set of glasses (50mm f/1.4 – I guess – a 35-70mm and a 70-210mm) Camera was very expensive, so not for everyday pictures, and shooting film was also hard. As everybody knows, you don’t test too much and you don’t remember what you tested after you get the prints …

After that I went to point and shoot, registering the moment. No art involved. No control. No composition. Just shooting traveling and friends. Years gone by and the point and shoot went from film to digital.

Recently (fall 2010) my wife, who’s also into photography and oil painting, had the great idea of getting a “real” camera for us. After a lot of researching (that’s how scientists do) we’ve got the new Canon 60D with a 18-135mm. Well! That brought back the photographer in me and the will to learn. A lot of reading, videos, websites, blogs … a whole new world of information and knowledge. And the photography in two parts: shooting and editing.

On shooting, I’ve been learning about composition and what to do with the settings. Now in a “scientific manner”. On editing, I have always used some photoshop (my father is a graphic designer and my brother a publicist). I’ve just started using Adobe Lightroom for organizing and basic edits on my shooting.

There’s a lot of information on the web and a great variety of books on the myriad of photographic stiles. I’ll try to post here what I like on what I find around.

I still don’t know what kind of photographer I am. People? Landscape? Portraits? Actually I’m not really sure I’ll ever define a style!

I’m enjoying traveling and taking pictures. The camera has not been upgraded yet and I’m really enjoying this “one fits all” glasses (the 18-135mm). Are the ones that came with the camera, surely there are much better ones, surely there are much better options, but this is the one I have and fits my photography budget for the moment. I’ve been looking to extend the range of zoom, but likely this will either mean a “camera price” glass, or walking with a second lens, in part killing my light traveling. We’ll see.

Next post will be about the camera! I also have to format the blog on a personalized way, but that might take some time.

Anyway! IT’S OPEN FOR BUSINESS. Or using the Babylon 5 quote “And so, it begins!”.

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

