Old x new

About one year ago I bought my first SLR. Before they were not actually mine, they were my parent’s, though I could use them as often as I wanted. After that I moved to point and shoot on film (carrying a SLR was too complicated and not exactly the safest thing in the world to do.

Then I move to digital point and shoot and never came back to my film point and shoot. I just came across it a couple of weeks ago 🙂 I remember how long it took to finish this last film cartridge that was already loaded when I got the digital camera … AGES.

Now with the dSLR the point and shoot was left to the side, but not fully. Before, the difference was the media (film or digital), not there are more things involved. On the one hand image quality, control, and all that stuff that you get with a dSLR, on the other hand is quite a big volume to carry. The point and shoot keeps being used for trips and walk arounds where I can’t or don’t fill like taking the dSLR. For example, last month I had a work trip to Paris and I know before hand that the weather would be lousy and I would have no time to photowalk. Besides, walking with a dSLR in Paris requires a way larger amount of attention, because you really can be robbed! Then the point and shoot is a good option.

We (at home) have been using an old Canon Powershot, that gives you a lot of control, like aperture priority, ISO, … just don’t gives images in RAW, just JPG (unlike the more recent Powershot S95 or S100). A no-brainer camera, that gives some nice results. At least let’s me register the places with quality.

Now the new challenge will be to scan most of my old pictures, which I’m not even sure I still have the negatives, and then treat  them. Let’s see how it goes.

At the end you notice you have a lot of picture. I’m actually still trying to “merge” my archive of digital pictures from my point and shoot and the one of the dSLR. Then scanned pictures will come in this game.

I hope Lightroom can handle it well. Let’s see.

A little hint. Don’t let your pictures accumulate, neither unorganized, nor untreated. Shoot, archive them properly, treat them (retouch and stuff).

Another “lost thought”. Keyword your images properly and immediately.

Yet another lost thought. Make backups!! I personally get my raw files and save in two USB disks. Then I import them into Lightroom. Only then I format the card. Then, after I treated all my catalogue, I should save all of it into a third USB disk. Still figuring out if I should save the CR2’s or not. … And if I should make yet another copy of it hehehehe

Enough with lost thoughts, that’s mostly what this post has been.

Another last, but not lost, thought.

Help-Portrait! Nice initiative to join! This weekend. Look for one in your town!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

