Read the Instructions – Part 2

In the spirit of last week’s post, more about instructions.

A bit of a tail 🙂

Lately I’ve been bracketing a lot, but not always, that’s the problem. It’s a pain to be setting the bracketing and then unsetting, because in this situation you don’t want to have three shots. Takes longer to shoot and it’s a bunch of unnecessary images to store, or delete, specially when cameras start going above 18 Mpixels in RAW.

After my last traveling I was wondering if there would be something like a memory for settings. Guess what … I READ THE INSTRUCTIONS MANUAL!! There is, in the Canon 60D, at least one place for custom settings! Is the “C”!! Some cameras even have 2!!! (C1 and C2) Isn’t that nice???? 🙂

Canon 60D Dial – C mode

So I configured my custom settings as Av (aperture priority), 2 stops down and up, at ISO 100 and F11. A “safe” configuration I can easily tweak for the local conditions (rarely make a “heat of the moment” HDR hehehehe). But if I need to shoot the moment, I just turn to aperture or shutter priority or manual and my previous settings are there waiting for me.

A small thing that I tried last weekend in a walk around with a visiting friend and it has worked wonders! Worth trying! Worth reading the instructions manual.

For some cameras there are books and even Kelby Training (in case you’re subscriber). The case of the 60D, book from Nicole Young and training are from Jeff Revell (PhotoWalkPro) and the book takes you not to the standard info of the manual, but to the “best usage” of the features (I was told, too bad I don’t have the book, otherwise I would probably know about the “C” mode before hehehehehe).

Canon 60D – From snapshots to great shots – Nicole S. Young

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

