Without my camera

Back from vacations! I wanted to post something about it before leaving, kind of tell what I intended to do, but there was not time. I talk about it latter, also with some pictures.

Now to the camera. Yep! For the first time in almost 22 months I don’t have my loyal Canon 60D with me. I just left it for servicing.

Not long ago I’ve noticed that the rubber grip was getting loose close to the shutter release. First I thought “whatever”, but than it started to extend and I was able to feel the blisters all over the holding. Checking the internet about it, it was clear it was a known problem (DP Review discussion about it).

Rubber grip problem in Canon 60D (photo by Buchanan in DP Review)

That, together with another known problem, the hot shoe switch that is not released after the speedlite is removed, made me pay a visit to my usual dealer, who informed me that it could be fixed in the camera’s warranty, but it had to be send to the (suspense movie music tan-tan-taaaaan) authorized service!

The problem is, believe it or not, that the Canon authorized service for Germany is in the Netherlands!!!!! And this, of course, means a lot of time for any repair. Up to 6 or 8 weeks, depending on their load.

So, I decided to do that after the vacations + events I have on summer and coming back I would leave them the camera, hoping to have it back in less than 6 weeks.

Of course this “absence” is weird and I have the constant impression that something great to shoot will happen on every corner, now that I don’t have the camera with me. Maybe it works as detox hehehehehe

Let’s see! Eventually this will give me the opportunity of working on the images I have in my hard disk, or to write here about coffee!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Without my camera

  1. Pablo Ruelas says:

    had the same problem with my 60D, had to buy rubber cover for the camera

Leave a Reply

