Worldwide Photo Walk 2013 in Munich

Every year I wait anxiously for the Scott Kelby Worldwide Photowalk, this year even more, since I’d be joined by a very loved family member that also loves photography and is great part guilty of my passions for it. My mother who was visiting us this week.

Scott Kelby - Worldwide Photowalk

My first walk, two years ago, was in a sunny day wearing shorts. Last year was at a cloudy and cold afternoon. This year it happened in an extremely rainy day! I don’t want to foreseen how next year is going to be 🙂

The rain of course scared most of the walkers. Only 16 showed up from the official 42 registered participants. Also we got delayed and missed the start of it, so an additional complication. Luckily a draft of the programmed walk path was on-line and we could have a clue from where to start.

The rain would not give it a break. Camera in a plastic bag and very little inspiration to shoot. Suddenly we met some of the participants. Easy to notice 5 or 6 people walking around with big cameras, and they kindly gave me a copy of the walk plan. Since they were heading to the opened region we came from, I decided to keep my way and see the region they were coming from.

I must say that the most inspiring moments were when we decided to sit at a small snack, eat something and shoot colorful combination of umbrellas that would gather at the traffic light. This was a fun exercise I do have to practice more often. Is this making street photography look attractive to me? Maybe.

When the rain reduced the intensity we kept walking, but the scenario was not nice at al and we didn’t run into any other walker. We reached the planned restaurant at the expected time but no one was around. In addition the restaurant was packed because of the Oktoberfest. Already in the subway we ran into one of the walkers from the previous year who told me about the low numbers and that, due to the rain, the whole walk was much faster and the restaurant was full so they went somewhere else …

Not the enjoyment I was hoping for and I not really sure I have anything from this walk. Couldn’t look at it carefully enough yet. Let’s see.

Unrelated note. For people around southern Germany at least, it seems that this weekend is the ‘peak of the fall., At least the color of the trees are amazing those days! I hope the weather improves a bit, at least a break in the rain, so I can do some nice shooting! Moose Peterson has some beautiful material about Fall Colors. Worth checking out!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worldwide Photo Walk 2013 in Munich

  1. Bernd says:

    Nice story! Thanks for it. I was one of the registered member who had been scared by the rain 🙂
    Best regards, Bernd

Leave a Reply

