Cleaning up!?!?

As usual, crazy few weeks and I could not post anything last week.

Google data center

Google data center

One of the things that is taking my time is some new year clean up.

My backup system is very simple (nothing like the image above). Two external disks where I copy everything directly from the memory card (usually), then I have a copy in my internal hard disk where I work with them and then dump it all (including Lightroom catalogs) to a third USB disk.

So, double copy of the raw files (as my “negatives”) in external disks than two work copies with everything, one internal, one external.

Then, after the Xmas vacations I actually ran out of space in the external disks … not nice 😉

Before getting new disks I decided to go through the pictures and delete the ones that are totally hopeless! I’ve seen a lot of discussion, from “I don’t delete anything” to “I delete everything I don’t use immediately!”.

On that, I sometimes cleaned some stuff in camera, really hopeless stuff, specially when I needed space in the card to keep shooting, but had never gone through what I had in disk.

This was the exercise in the last couple of weeks! And of course you find stuff you’ll really never-never-never gonna use! Like an out-of-focus shot of the back of your kid in a carrousel!!

The interesting of this exercise is that I could notice that my deletion threshold varied according to my mood. Some days was “well, it’s soft-focused but it’s so nice” and some other days was like “not sharp DEL, not sharp DEL, why did I shoot that? DEL …” Gotta be careful anyway.

Well, now I have tagged and ready to clean 5% of the images in my disk! Not bad! This will give me a couple of months of breathing room!

Another thing that came with this exercise was that I revisited some images and saw some stuff that needs some reworking (noted for later, did not want to cross tasks) and a lot of stuff I never had time to work with, but I like it! Like it even some time after shooting!!!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

