Due credit

I complain … a lot. Not only complain for the sake of complaining, but I try to make a point with it.

Dent on a plastic strip of a "New iPad" (aka iPad 3).

Dent on a plastic strip of a “New iPad” (aka iPad 3).

Bad service has to be reported and spread. Word of mouth is the best referral, or “dis-referral” if you may.

This post is not about photography, but about associated gear 🙂

Got a MacBook years ago. Got “Apple Care”, the extended warranty Apple offers for a fraction of the device’s price. Still inside the Apple Care coverage my battery simply “swollen” … it’s got fat and off the socket. Contacted an Apple dealer (a trusted one) who told me that Apple refutes battery claims, since they consider it “wear”, so it’s not a defect, and I should stop using this battery immediately before it leaks and destroys my notebook and would have to buy a new battery.

The discussion went on why do Apple batteries wear out so fast, while Dell’s (my wife had bought a Dell laptop the same month I’ve got the MacBook) last forever????

Needless to say that the new battery I’ve bought had the exact same problem in the exact same timescale.

Well, the post is not about the MacBook, by the way.

Not long ago I’ve got a “New iPad” (aka. iPad 3), which is a nice tool to see nice images, read photographic news and even to remotely control your camera (though I don’t use it this way). Got it at my trusted dealer and with Apple Care! Why? Well, my contact actually made the joke saying “hey, for iPads they cover the battery!!” 🙂

One nice day some plastic strip got a dent and broke (picture above).

I contacted the dealer, who said they would have to send the iPad to Apple and it would take about a week. I was 99.9% sure Apple would say “nah! this is wear! not covered by Apple Care”.

After about 4 days I was contacted and the answer was “you can come pick your iPad, we got it covered by Apple Care”. That was nice!

Kudos to Apple for that. They replaced my iPad for the exact same one. I could have used the chance for an upgrade to an iPad Air, but it was nice enough! 🙂

So credit, where credit is due (but Apple, don’t get so happy, I’m still sour because of my MacBook battery!).

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

