The Nifty Fifty

A lot of new great software coming out these days!!

Last week I had to break this series to talk about the great release of Snapseed 2.0 and two days ago Adobe just released the newest version of Lightroom (Lightroom CC/Lightroom 6). I’ll try to talk about this upgrade next week, since I haven’t even had the chance to download it!!! But now the series continues šŸ™‚

After renting the 85mm f/1.8 and finding out it was not the lens I wanted at the moment, the search for a new Christmas gift took me to a 50mm. The question was 1.8 or 1.4?

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II (source: Wikipedia)

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II (source: Wikipedia)

But wait a second, I already have a 50mm f/1.8. The Nikon Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 AF from 1986, to which I added a Nikon to Canon adaptor. It’s a great lens, almost no distortion, light, simple, robust build …

The problem is … taking pictures of kids with a 1.8 is not easy. They move! And with the very shallow depth of field, they get soft focused or even totally blurred while you’re taking the picture. Add to that the fact that the Nikon lens, when adapted to Canon has no auto-focus. Very honestly. Manual focus is not my thing (I’m modern šŸ™‚ ), while taking pictures of kids manual focus becomes even harder!! I realized that, though I had a wonderful lens in my hands, I was not using it. So the 50mm came back to the options list.

I was impressed by the Ultrasonic Motor (USM) of the 85mm, how fast it would focus. The 50mm f/1.8 from Canon is simple, as simple as it gets. Plastic build, plastic mount, extremely light, no options but auto or manual focus. Not that the 50mm f/1.4 has many options, but is a great build, metal body, metal mount and USM focus motor. So I headed to my local photography shop and did a quick test to it. The 1.4 focus faster, but nothing that would make the 1.8 useless. I had borrowed the 1.8 from a friend once, and I also don’t recall being annoyingly slow. Also, by the price tag it has, if you don’t like it, just sell it on Ebay. So I decided to give it a try!

So, that was my Christmas gift last year! Now I find myself taking f/1.8 pictures of my kids in the leaving room! Still didn’t have time to set up another shooting, but it’s on the way. For now I just enjoy the very shallow depth of field. The background is not appealing (like shelves, or something like you find in the leaving room), but it gets so blurred that you can’t tell what it is, it’s just colors!! Of course 50% of shots are useless, since the kids move so fast, they are not sharp at all. But I have my fun!! šŸ™‚

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

