Missing the picture and missing the point?

The city I live is celebrating its 1100th anniversary. Things in Germany are pretty old, even the new ones 😉

Light Cube - Garching 1100 years (photo: Gerald Förtsch - Merkur.de)

Light Cube – Garching 1100 years (photo: Gerald Förtsch – Merkur.de)

There will be events all year and for the opening they made a party at the main square, and for that they brought a “cube of light” (see the picture above). Well, a cube of light is something worth shooting!! Of course!! (not with a bunch of people in front).

The cube stayed after the party and I assumed it would be there for long, if not for the whole year.

The buildings in the back of the square are all colored with tones varying from ocher to green. The cube in the front would be the perfect foreground for the buildings. Nice HDR shot! Yey!!!! For the background I wanted a nice blue hour. I would probably have to do an additional very short exposure shot to get the cube with proper colors.

That’s where the problem started! Nice foreground, lit when it starts getting dark (the cube), nice middle-ground, which I could get the colors with HDR, but the background was never there! It was always cloudy. I decided to wait for “tomorrow’s nice weather”. Days went on and on …

One day I had just finished putting the kids in bed and my wife showed me that despite the couple of clouds, there would be a nice moonrise! OK! Not a crystal clear blue hour, but much better, some clouds illuminated by the moon!!! I grabbed my gear and ran to the square.

To my surprise, when I got to the spot I had previously selected I noticed the cube was no longer there!!!! They had it removed during the weekend!!!! Sad thing. I waited so long that the target vanished!! Since I was there I took some shots, they miss the foreground element (I’ll put them here, when I’m done with them – haven’t started them yet 😉 ).

Bottom line. It would probably have been better to have the shot, even with a bad sky in the back, then not having the shot at all …

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missing the picture and missing the point?

  1. Pingback: Getting the picture | Photo and Coffee

Leave a Reply

