Fear for the gear – part 2

Once again we are flying to Brazil on vacations. Now in the European summer, due to constraints on school vacations (2 weeks winter vacations are not enough to cross the ocean πŸ™‚ ).

Bird eye view of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (photo from totaldecadence.com).

Bird eye view of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (photo from totaldecadence.com).

I’m even repeating the same beautiful image of the previous post πŸ™‚

Didn’t have bad experiences in previous years, but didn’t have a relaxed experience either. Pretty much using the dSLR at the families’ houses and in closed environments. Not really useful, at the end.

Whenever I had to go on the street I carried a small point and shoot, that fits in my pocket and is quite inexpensive. So I can go more relaxed and more inconspicuous. Together with that, the violence situation in Brazil didn’t improve, exactly the opposite.

Well! This time I decided to leave the dSLR at home and take just the point and shoot. Last time I even managed to do some HDR with it. It’s harder (you have to exposure compensate by hand without the proper knobs), it’s JPG, but the results are not bad.

On top of not having to worry about the camera itself, I’ll spare myself some weight (not the camara’s) and some possible headaches.

If I’m not taking the dSLR, I don’t have to take a laptop to store the images. So I travel way lighter. The images from the point and shoot are JPG, so way smaller than the 25-30MB per image of the dSLR in RAW. Not enough memory cards and backup solutions πŸ˜‰

Also I save time in customs. When you’re a foreigner coming to Brazil, you can bring your camera, laptop, … with problems. When you’re a Brazilian living abroad, same rules apply, but you really have to make that clear to the custom officers, otherwise you’ll be charged import taxes on your gear. I just don’t want to go through that. So no dSLR, no laptop, no headaches, though, no good pictures either.

Sad decision, but it’s vacations and I really need to rest and spend time with our families! πŸ™‚

Also sad news on the coffee side of life! My espresso machine is in a comma!!!! Let’s see what could be done when I’m back!!

This blog will be back in September, after the summer!!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

