Going mobile?

Nowadays we all have the need to share our images online. Either because we want, or because we’re wanted.

Corcovado from the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas - Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil

Corcovado from the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas – Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil (Photo by Cris da Rocha)

Facebook, Google+, Instagram … all can be shared from our mobiles, which, by the way, have better and better cameras.

In my case, on the other hand, I shoot raw. Convince Jared Polin (the Fro) to change and then I’ll think about it. It’s not practical for sharing purposes.

Family and friends want to see us on Facebook as it happens and I can’t process my DSLR images that fast, just don’t have the time. My workflow is a bit heavier than that. Get the card, back it up, import into Lightroom, select the keepers, process them to finally export and share, takes a bit longer than this “customer” requires.

Tabatinga  beach - Caraguatatuba, SP, Brazil

Tabatinga beach – Caraguatatuba, SP, Brazil (Photo by Cris da Rocha)

I recently caught myself taking my family shots on the street with my DSLR and a couple of them with my phone. Even more when traveling on vacations, when I don’t intend to take enough computing power to download and process anything.

The phone brought in a very simplified workflow, which I extensively applied in this recent DSLR-free vacation. Go somewhere nice, take nice simple shots with the phone, process them on Snapseed (of course I need to make my phone photography look its best) and share them, killing friends with envy.

Camboinhas beach - Niteroi, RJ, Brazil

Camboinhas beach – Niteroi, RJ, Brazil (Photo by Cris da Rocha)

After you have the current events shared with your public, just try not to take more than one year to send your sister-in-law last Christmas’ pictures, otherwise they will start complaining again 🙂

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

