What have you been reading?

I have always been around books. My father always had a big library at home and in a research career you constantly need to read plenty of science papers.

Books

Professionally, since I drifted away from research, it’s not different: database, software development, management or project management, they all require a lot of reading.

When I want to learn something, I study it. It’s like this professionally, it was like that with cycling and photography was no exception.

Nowadays the Internet provides you with a ton of good information. It’s actually difficult to read all the interesting content and still read something else.

On general photography my suggestions are the following:

Light Stalking
Fstoppers
Petapixel
Photography Life
Photo Focus

Then comes specific sites. In this area I like a lot one about Lightroom. Lightroom is 90-95% of my workflow, so it deserves some special love.

Lightroom Killer Tips

On people sharing their experiences I follow a couple of blogs like:

Joe McNally
Scott Kelby
Frank Doorhof
David Hobby (The Strobist)

I compile the interesting part in a Cris da Rocha’s Photography News – Flipboard magazine. Also follow a couple of magazines in Flipboard 🙂

Then comes the books. I like reading hardcopies. Call me old school, I call myself vintage hehehehehe But I’m surrendering to the electronic formats. It’s much easier. I’m basically aways reading 2 or 3 books at he same time.

At the moment I have in my night table “50 portraits“, from Gregory Heisler, over my night table. Not in a hurry to finish it. Fantastic book. To enjoy each page. In the iPad I have “The moment it clicks“, from Joe McNally, very similar to Heisler’s. Also to enjoy each page. And I’m always either with a more technical book, the Photoshop User Magazine or a photography one around.

At the moment I’m reading online Scott Kelby’s new book “How do I do that in Lightroom“. It’s and Lightroom advanced cookbook and Scott has made the whole book available in the web (for limited time). The book is great and I want it in hardcopy. Just waiting for and opportunity to get it.

That’s a lot of material. If made good use can be very helpful.

And you? What have you been reading?

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

