How good should we be?

Posting frequency has been a bit “infrequent” (let’s call it like this). Yep, the project I mentioned a couple of times is taking a lot of time and also work be being quite overwhelming.

Inspiration

A bit of a philosophical moment. A couple of week ago I was reading a photography website and they were talking about feeling stuck versus evolving your craft. While reading that, I started to locate myself in this scenario. My photography is not evolving as I would like, but how much effort am I really putting into it. Well, to be honest, recently not much.

Then you start reading about this photographer (a generic and quite frequent one) that got his first camera 5 years ago (around the time I came back to photography) and now runs a successful business in the area, and go like “WHAT?? Why can’t I do that???”.

Well, to be very plain and simple, because this person probably dedicated quite an amount of time to the craft, that I didn’t. For a variety of reason: family constraints, work constraints, real will to become a professional and so on. In my case, I have a two small kids at home, with the whole package of problems that comes from raising kids away from your family, trying two develop multiple work fronts at the same time, having learnt pretty much 3 new professions in the last 5 years. One can’t do it all. It’s just not possible.

In previous year I have sacrificed a whole artistic and sportive side of my life to focus on the career I chose. Got a Ph.D. in the field, worked hard, but then life changes the winds and you have to adjust the sails and keep on going. So, you not always get where you planned, but you always get somewhere.

The other side of this story, reinforced by marketers and entrepreneurs like Seth Godin and Richard Branson, is that you’ll only succeed on something, if you try it and if you try, you’ll probably fail, more than once, until you get it right. But it’s not like, go trying things randomly until one of them sticks, like a lot of people prefers to think. It requires dedication and effort, nothing worth having comes easy. Apparently there’s no way around the 10,000 hours of practice “law”.

On my side, I’m trying to get my act together, organize myself so I can do most of the things I like, but never neglecting attention to the family. Kids only grow once, you can either be part of it, or be an spectator, I rather be part of it.

Once you organize your time, prioritize your activities, inspiration will come back and those things will re-flourish. You’ll feel like getting your camera more often, editing your images more often, riding your bike more often, reading your books more often. If some of them don’t come back, oh well, it was a nice ride, but now sits in the past, so let it there. Enjoy the things you do and try to do them as well as you want to do them, otherwise is just more pressure and the fun goes away defeating the whole purpose.

In a nutshell, have fun!

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

