Yearly Projects???

Happy new year you all!!

New year always brings the “should I enroll one of those 365/52 projects?”.

365, 90, 52 ... Yearly Projects

365, 90, 52 … Yearly Projects

A 365 project definitively is not an option. I rather not shoot, than force myself to take a bad picture per day. But a 52 project (one per week) would be a possibility.

Here comes a mea culpa. Last year I wanted to do it, even found a nice list of themes for each week suggested by Dale Foshe, but ended up not being able to start.

This year I was on the “I’m gonna use that list this year” mood, when Dale Foshe made a another list for a 52 project, even a bit more elaborate. Even better, a new list to work with! First week came, theme was “Tell a story with the rule of thirds”. In the road, in the beginning of the week, I had this idea of using the road lanes as rule of thirds and the road as a story, but couldn’t shoot it since we had rain and then snow. Getting home, on a sunny day I went to a road passage to shoot my idea and all I could see was a road … a boring road. Maybe the idea was good, but not like this. Then I couldn’t work on that anymore.

Still, the mind was “I’ll make theme’s 1 and 2, and get back on track”. Then ramp up of work got in the way and I couldn’t make any of the two shots. That was a bit disappointing.

The other day I was reading a post from Torsten Kathke, where the topic was exactly how a year long project (daily or weekly) is a big thing and when you give up in the middle of it, you feel really let down … the suggestion is a three months project, that if you succeed, you can always make another one and so on. But the main point raised in this article is about how much is your life organized to allow you to shoot a precise theme each week, and how much pressure is to go out and shoot a precise theme! That got me thinking! I love going out and shooting, but I have no preconceived topic, I have no requirements and I have no routine. I don’t go shooting on specific days of the week, or even every week. I carry my camera around when I’m going out. So, my life has no photographic structure.

Maybe the way to get things a bit more interesting is to actually have a routine, a structure, like “on Sundays I go out to shoot”. Easier said than done, but worth the shot.

And you? What’s the plan for 2017?

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

