Back from Paris

Hey! Back from Paris!! After a rainy Easter and a rainy trip to Frankfurt … guess what … RAINY!!!! Grrrrr I’m not usually like that 🙂

Anyway it was good. Still have to process my pictures (remember last post, huge backlog? Well, 600 shots larger now 🙂 ). By the way, picture above is not mine, it’s from the web (credit in the picture).

Could not visit the whole city, it was a family trip and my 4 years old son has a limit on how much he can support his father photo addiction 🙂 But we managed to visit a good part of it. I can’t wait to sit and look at the pictures! I really don’t know what is there, since they were all taken handheld (though I took my tripod 🙂 ) and mostly at harsh light (I’ll try some HDR thingy, Jeff Revell’s way).

I could not help noticing the amount of people using dSLRs (also a great share of people using point-and-shoots and phones). I already mentioned that in a previous post, but this really struck me in Paris!! First the sharing between point-and-shoots and phones, then the amount of dSLRs.

But one other thing also hit me. The amount of people that does not use the most basic advantages of a dSLR. No, I’m not that experienced, not that good, but please, don’t try to take a picture of a monument, meters away, with the pop-up flash.

Small tip. I read that at Scott Kelby’s Digital Photography book (I guess, or heard it in some NAPP show, or so). “Improve your photography 1000% … move your mode dial from fully automated mode, the green C (or green square) to PROGRAM mode, usually a P”.

This will give you some level of control to your picture, with the ability to override the camera’s decisions. In case you don’t want to override them, at least it will not pop-up the flash because it’s darkish.

The next step would be read and watch part of the huge amount of information you can find in the internet on how to use your camera and move the dial to “Av” (on Canon) or “A” (on Nikon), which is aperture priority. You decide the aperture, based on light availability, desired depth of field or any other creative reason and the camera gives you the shutter speed.

So! Soon, pictures from Paris, Frankfurt or other things! First I have to fix my computer that is kind of broken …

About Cris Da Rocha

Astrophysicist, DB manager, cyclist, musician and, why not, "photographer to be". Back to enjoy photography after many years ... it's cool. Might share something nice and get something new.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Back from Paris

  1. Pingback: Photography for beginners – Know Thy camera | Photo and Coffee

Leave a comment